How do I . . .? | Library Home | DA Home | Moodle | NoodleBib | Contact Us

Research Databases (on-campus access)

Go to DA Orgs/Library to access the databases from a computer located off-campus.

Databases are purchased for the Deerfield Academy community to support the curriculum and to provide access to quality resources electronically. Some of the databases are indexes to periodical literature. Others are reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.).

The full text of every article may be available. Some databases provide a combination of citations only and full text articles. See Databases by Subject for more information on individual databases or print the database description handout.

Current Trials

Gale databases Literature Resource Center (includes MLA)
Science Resource Center
and more
(thru 7/15/06)
username: marc password: records

Proquest Databases
Literature Online (LION)(includes MLA)
MLA (stand alone)
Proquest Platinum
Chicago Defender (African Am. Newspaper)
(thru 7/16/06)
password: welcome

EBSCOhost databases MLA
General databases Science Ref Center Literary Ref Center
World History
(thru 7/31/06)
UserID: deerfield Password: trial

CQ Databases
Encyclopedia of American Government
Congress Collection
Historical Documents
CQ Researcher Archive
Supreme Court Collection
Political Handbook of the World
(thru 7/3/06)

Polling the Nations (thru 7/14/06)
username: deerfield
password: meck

Historical Statistics of the United States (thru 7/18/06)
Login email: deerfield@deerfield.edu
password: deerfield

Demo: SAT Online (Peterson's product)

 

Subject List
(includes descriptions & dates of coverage)

General & Reference
(multiple subjects)

Art

Biography

Business & Economics

Current Issues

Education

History

Law & Political Science

Literature & Language

Medicine/Health

Music

News

Science

Databases for children

Alphabetical List

(H)(W)(D) = our donors

Access Science
Accessible Archives (W)
American Civil War Letters & Diaries (W)
American History
American National Biography
American Periodicals Series and Historical Newspapers (W)
American Slavery
Biography Resource Center*
Black Thought & Culture (W)
Books in Print (W)
Business & Company ASAP* (InfoTrac)
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Classical Music Library
Contemporary Literary Criticism* (InfoTrac)
CountryWatch
CQ Researcher
Encyclopaedia Britannica
ERIC (education)
Expanded Academic* (InfoTrac)
Gale Literary Index (indexes Gale criticism & biography sources)
Gale Virtual Reference Library*
General Business File* (InfoTrac)
General Reference Center* (InfoTrac)
Granger's World of Poetry (H)
Grove Art Encyclopedia
Oxford Music Online
Health Reference Center* (InfoTrac)
Historic Events of the 20th Century
Historical Newspapers and American Periodicals Series (W)
History Reference Center
History Study Center
InfoTrac Databases* (search several databases at once)
InfoTrac OneFile*
In the First Person (personal narratives)
JSTOR (H)
Lexis-Nexis (news, law & legislation, statistics)
LISTA (Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts)
LitFinder (H)
NewsBank* (Massachusetts newspapers)
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, & Oral Histories (W)
North American Women's Letters & Diaries (W)
Opposing Viewpoints (InfoTrac)
Oxford English Dictionary (H)
Professional Collection* (education)(InfoTrac)
PubMed (medicine)
Readers Guide Retrospective (W) (citations only)
Science Full Text Select
SIRS Decades (D)
Smithsonian Global Sound
Student Edition* (high school)(InfoTrac)
TRC (Teacher Reference Center)
Women and Social Movements in the United States (W)

For assistance with searching efficiently, consult the Help information provided for the database or ask a Reference Librarian.

Links should provide immediate access to the database. Report any difficulties with access to: Wanda Meck, 774-1515 or Reference Desk, 774-1510 .

For information on citing the articles retrieved from research databases, see Citation Style Guides.

(H) Gift of the Henry Fund in honor of Grace Henry, P '69 '72
(W) Gift of Baroness Rene de Kerchove in memory of her son, James Huntington Whyte
(D) Gift of the Joshua Martin Dill Memorial Fund

* Provided to all libraries in Massachusetts through the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners