News Databases
General databases and current issues databases also include news articles
Consider business databases for business news, medical databases for medical news, and so on
Accessible Archives (full text)
Provides the full text of a group of historical periodicals, including several newspapers:
- The Pennsylvania Gazette (1738-1800)--"the New York Times of the 18th Century"
- The Liberator (1831-1865)--" the most influential newspaper in the antebellum, antislavery crusade"
- African American Newspapers (19th Century)
- The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (Nov. 1860-April 1865)--2 southern papers + 1 northern paper
- The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record (Delaware County 1819-1870)
America's Historical Newspapers (full text)(1690-1922)
Historic newspapers from more than 20 states
America's News Magazines (full text)(1991-present)
Coverage of U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from 27 familiar magazines
CountryWatch (full text)
Provides information on each of the 192 recognized countries of the world including:
- CountryReviews--demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information;
- CountryWire--daily news coverage and a news archive;
- CountryWatch Forecast--a five-year macroeconomic forecast;
- CountryWatch Energy Forecast--a 20-year forecast of energy demand, supply, and pricing;
- Also features CountryWatch Data (statistics), the CountryWatch Map Gallery, CountryWatch@School (curriculum based resources), and the weekly Global News Update.
Historical Newspapers (and American Periodicals Series) (full text)
Provides digitized images of the following newspapers--search all of the newspapers plus the American Periodicals Series database or search each database individually
- Hartford Courant (1764-1984)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)
- The New York Times(1851-2005)
- The Altanta Constitution (1868-1939)
- The Boston Globe (1872-1925)
- The Washington Post (1877-1992)
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)
- The Wall Street Journal (1889-1991)
- The Christian Science Monitor (1908-1995)
The graphical version of the newspaper database is for students and includes Topics, Timelines, Famous Dead People, This Day in History, and a What Happened search for specific days--does not include American Periodicals Series
Lexis-Nexis (news, law & legislation, statistics)(full text)
"Includes major U.S. and international newspapers; leading magazines, wire services and broadcast news transcripts; statistics and historical information; non-English language publications; and Federal and state case law, codes and legislation, both enacted and pending"
Massachusetts Newsstand (full text)
Search all of the Massachusetts papers at once with this link, or select individual papers
- Massachusetts Newsstand (search the 12 newspapers below plus selected coverage of other regional sources)
- Berkshire Eagle (covers Pittsfield, MA, Berkshire County, and 4 nearby New York communities) (2005-present)
- Boston Globe (1980-present)
- Boston Herald (1991-present)
- BusinessWest (Chicopee, MA) (1992-present)
- Gazette (Haverhill, MA) (1992-present)
- North Adams Transcript (covers northern Berkshire region) (2005-present)
- Patriot Ledger (Quincy, MA) (1991-present)
- Plymouth County Business Review (covers southeastern MA) (1991-present)
- Sentinel & Enterprise (Fitchburg, MA) (2005-present)
- Standard Times (New Bedford, MA) (1992-present)
- Sun (Lowell, MA) (covers the Merrimack Valley) (2004-present)
- Telegram & Gazette (Worcester, MA) (1995-present)
Also available, Springfield Republican (full text)(1988-present)
Newspaper Source (full text)(title list)
Full text for major national and international newspapers plus selected full text for over 200 regional newspapers
New York Times (full text)(1995-present)
El Pais (Spanish newspaper)
Website for this Spanish language newspaper published in Madrid--includes an archive--also see Lexis-Nexis for full text back to 1996
|