ABOUT THE LIBRARY
Please report any problems accessing databases to Tricia Kelly or Janet Eckert
General databases also include music topics
American Song (Billy Rose Foundation Grant)
Search 4 music databases at once or search them individually below:
- American Song (plus African American Song)
Includes well known classics of American music plus music that relates to all areas of American life, every ethnic group, and every time period--songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys--songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, and anti-war protests--hymns, funny songs, college songs, sea shanties, shape note songs, and songs about topics such as New York and electricity--
jazz, blues, gospel, and other forms of African American musical expression--includes thousands of tracks and documents the history of African American music in sound.
- Classical Music Library
Audio service that provides thousands of licensed classical recordings--view a composer's work alphabetically, by year of composition, or by genre.
- Contemporary World Music
Thousands of tracks plus liner notes for contemporary reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres--also includes traditional music such as Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku.
- Smithsonian Global Sound
Virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions--includes American folk, blues, bluegrass, old time country, American Indian, world, jazz, classical & broadway, spoken word & sounds, children's.
Naxos Music Library (Localio Arts Fund)
A large collection of classical, jazz, world, folk, and Chinese music--includes notes on the works plus biographical information on composers and artists.
Oxford Music Online (Localio Arts Fund)
Full text of the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music--includes articles on "composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres".