Literature & Language Databases
General databases also include literary topics and book reviews
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project (American Council of Learned Societies)(full text e-books)
Provides the full text of over 1,000 high quality books in the humanities, including both in-print and out-of-print titles back to 1885-- Powerpoint demo
Books in Print
Offers bibliographic information on over 5 million in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming book, audio, and video titles--includes over 700,000 reviews, and tables of contents, cover images, author biographies and annotations for some titles
Contemporary Literary Criticism (full text)
Critical essays on contemporary authors including biographical information, critical importance, and principal works plus additional sources
Contemporary Novelists (full text)
Contemporary Poets (full text)
Granger's World of Poetry (some full text)
Indexes poetry located in anthologies--contains 250,000 full text poems and 450,000 citations, plus poetry commentary, poets' biographies, and literary glossary terms
Literary Reference Center* (full text)(graphical version)
Provides information on thousands of literary works across disciplines and timeframes--combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals plus original content from EBSCO Publishing--contains plot summaries, synopses, criticism, biographies, journal articles, book reviews, poetry, short stories, author interviews, classic texts, and more--includes the following reference sources:
- Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature
- Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature
- Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature
- Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
- The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
- Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes)
- The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature
- The Literary Encyclopedia
- The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story
- All of MagillOnLiterature PlusT
- and more
LitFinder (full text plus citations only)
Provides the full text of over 125,000 poems plus over 850,000 poem citations plus thousands of short stories, plays, essays and speeches--includes subject access, literary criticism, biographies, pictures, character lists, genre access, and explanations
Oxford English Dictionary (Help)
The "accepted authority on the evolution of the English language"--includes meaning, usage, and pronunciation
Shakespeare Research Guide
|