How do I . . .? | Library Home | DA Home | Moodle | NoodleBib | Contact Us

Law & Political Science Databases

General databases and news databases also include articles on legal and political topics

American State Papers, 1789-1838
Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)(full text)(1991-present)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs--includes "working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs"--also includes teaching materials and course packs of background readings for history and political science classes

Countries & Cultures Research Guide

CountryWatch (full text)
Provides information on each of the 192 recognized countries of the world including:
CountryReviews--demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information;
CountryWire--daily news coverage and a news archive;
CountryWatch Forecast--a five-year macroeconomic forecast;
CountryWatch Energy Forecast--a 20-year forecast of energy demand, supply, and pricing;
Also features CountryWatch Data (statistics), the CountryWatch Map Gallery, CountryWatch@School (curriculum based resources), and the weekly Global News Update

CQ Supreme Court Collection
Includes analysis of Supreme Court decisions, case summaries, biographies of the justices, links to justice opinions, and more

Law Research Guide (links to legal information on the Internet)

Lexis-Nexis (news, law & legislation, statistics)(full text)
"Includes major U.S. and international newspapers; leading magazines, wire services and broadcast news transcripts; statistics and historical information; non-English language publications; and Federal and state case law, codes and legislation, both enacted and pending"

United States Government Research Guide (links to government information on the Internet)--see also How Do I Find Government Documents?

World Conflicts Today(full text)
Explores unresolved world conflicts, occurring in: Afghanistan, Basque country (Spain and France), Chechnya, Colombia, Darfur (Sudan), Iraq, Jammu and Kashmir, Korean Peninsula, Northern Ireland, and Palestinian Territories--synthesizes information found in news articles, primary sources, books, and opinion pieces