History Databases
General databases and news databases also include historical topics
General History Databases
Accessible Archives (full text)
Provides the full text of a group of historical periodicals:
- Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1885)--" considered among the most important resources of 19th century American life and culture"
- The Pennsylvania Gazette (1738-1800)--"the New York Times of the 18th Century"
- The Liberator (1831-1865)--" the most influential newspaper in the antebellum, antislavery crusade"
- African American Newspapers (19th Century)
- The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (Nov. 1860-April 1865)--2 southern papers + 1 northern paper
- The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record (Delaware County 1819-1870)
- The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue (Chester County 1809-1870)
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project (American Council of Learned Societies)(full text e-books)
Provides the full text of over 1,000 high quality books in the humanities, including both in-print and out-of-print titles back to 1885--
Powerpoint demo
American History Online (full text)
Provides comprehensive coverage of the history of America and its people--includes biographies, primary sources, timelines, images, maps and charts
American Periodicals Series (and Historical Newspapers)(full text)(1740-1940)
Provides digitized images of American magazines and journals
including general interest magazines, children's publications, and more than 20 journals for women--search this database along with the Historical Newspapers or by itself
Archive of Americana (full text)(1639-1922)
Includes the following
historical collections containing books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera. Search one collection below or search multiple collections:
- American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I
Broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
- American State Papers, 1789-1838
Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints
- America's Historical Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1922
Hundreds of historic newspapers from more than 20 states
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (1923-present)(full text)
Online version of a weekly periodical that provides in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues--each weekly issue includes a chronology, a pro and con section, and a bibliography
Historical Newspapers (and American Periodicals Series) (full text)
Provides digitized images of the following newspapers--search all of the newspapers plus American Periodicals Series or search each database individually
- Hartford Courant (1764-1984)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)
- The New York Times(1851-2004)
- The Altanta Constitution (1868-1939)
- The Boston Globe (1872-1924)
- The Washington Post (1877-1991)
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)
- The Wall Street Journal (1889-1990)
- The Christian Science Monitor (1908-1994)
The graphical version of the newspaper database is for students and includes Topics, Timelines, Famous Dead People, This Day in History, and a What Happened search for specific days--this version does not include American Periodical Series
History Reference Center (full text)
Contains the full text of over 750 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books and at least 60 leading history periodicals--includes over 55,000 historical documents; over 40,000 biographies of historical figures; over 10,000 historical photos and maps; and over 80 hours of historical film and video
History Study Center (full text)
Consists of digitized primary and secondary sources, reference sources, historical images, video clips, and links to reliable web sites--Topic Search provides Study Units that include sources organized and edited by historians and History Guides on various topics
JSTOR (full text)
An archive of core scholarly journals back to the 1800's
Due to agreements with journal publishers, does not include current issues from the last 3-5 years
- Arts & Sciences Collection consists of over six hundred journals in the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences (economics; history; political science; sociology; ecology; mathematics; statistics; archaeology; classics; African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies; language and literature; music; history and study of art and architecture; cultural studies; film; folklore; performing arts; religion; law; psychology; public policy and administration; business and education)
- Biological Sciences Collection consists of journals in the natural and applied sciences (ecology, botany, biodiversity, conservation, paleontology, plant science, cell biology and zoology)
Readers Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)(citations only)
Indexes the most popular general interest periodicals published in the U.S. from 1890-1982
Specialized History Databases
American Civil War Letters & Diaries (full text)
Includes the writings of over 2,000 authors plus biographies and a bibliography of sources
American Slavery (full text)
Includes 4,000 narratives collected from American slaves from 1936-1938 under the auspices of the Work Projects Administration
Black Thought & Culture (full text)
Includes monographs, speeches, essays, articles, and interviews by leaders within the black community from early times to 1975
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)(full text)(1991-present)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs--includes "working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs"--also includes teaching materials and course packs of background readings for history and political science classes
Countries & Cultures Research Guide
CountryWatch (full text)
Provides information on each of the 192 recognized countries of the world including:
- CountryReviews--demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information;
- CountryWire--daily news coverage and a news archive;
- CountryWatch Forecast--a five-year macroeconomic forecast;
- CountryWatch Energy Forecast--a 20-year forecast of energy demand, supply, and pricing;
- Also features CountryWatch Data (statistics), the CountryWatch Map Gallery, CountryWatch@School (curriculum based resources), and the weekly Global News Update.
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations and Footwear through the Ages (full text)
The Fifties Research Guide
Historic Events of the 20th Century (full text)
Provides resources on the following major topics: The Civil Rights Movement, The Collapse of Communism in the Soviet Union, The Holocaust, Islamic Fundamentalism, World War I, and World War II--each section includes narrative histories and analyses, primary documents, biographies, chronologies, glossaries, photos, maps, multimedia resources, and lesson plans.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Standard source for quantitative facts on American history--includes information on population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations
In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives (full text)
This free database from Alexander Street indexes 4 of the databases listed here (North American Women's Letters and Diaries;, The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries; and Oral Histories, Black Thought and Culture), plus British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries--also indexes memoirs, autobiographies, and over 3,000 audio and video files, plus links to scholarly materials on the Internet
Massachusetts History Online (full text)
Contains articles from 50 magazines and local newspapers for coverage of Massachusetts people, places and historical events
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, & Oral Histories (1800-1950)(full text)
Contains over 2,000 authors and provides the personal reflections of immigrants to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950--includes letters, diaries, oral histories, interviews and other personal narratives--audio is available in selected cases
North American Women's Letters & Diaries (full text)
Contains the personal experiences of over 1,000 American women from the Colonial Period to 1950--includes biographies and an annotated bibliography
Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students (full text)
SIRS Decades (full text)
Contains primary sources from the 20th century and reference source content organized into topics pertaining to American history, culture, and daily life--primary sources include: advertisements, editorial cartoons, letters, memos, messages, maps and charts, original documents, original works of art, photographs, poems and literary works, posters, published articles, speeches and addresses
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture (full text)
United States History Research Guide (links to quality Internet sites)
Women and Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000)(full text)
Includes over 1,500 documents as well as book, film, and website reviews
World Conflicts Today (full text)
Explores unresolved world conflicts, occurring in: Afghanistan, Basque country (Spain and France), Chechnya, Colombia, Darfur (Sudan), Iraq, Jammu and Kashmir, Korean Peninsula, Northern Ireland, and Palestinian Territories--synthesizes information found in news articles, primary sources, books, and opinion pieces
World History Research Guide (links to quality Internet sites)
|