RESOURCES
SERVICES
ABOUT THE LIBRARY
FOR FACULTY |
General & Reference Databases
General Databases
Academic OneFile (full text plus citations and abstracts only)
A general academic database that indexes leading journals and reference sources--includes peer-reviewed articles in all disciplines--includes full text of the New York Times, 1995-present
Academic Search Premier (full text plus citations and abstracts only)
A general academic database that indexes over 8,000 leading publications in all subject areas and provides full text for over 4,000 of those titles--over 3,500 titles are peer-reviewed or scholarly publications
America's News Magazines (full text)(26 titles)
EBSCOhost Web (search several databases at once)
Academic Search Premier, MAS Ultra - School Edition, History Reference Center, MLA Bibliography (literature), TOPICsearch (current events), Newspaper Source (full text), Health Source, ERIC (education), Professional Collection (education), Science Reference Center
Expanded Academic (1980-present) (full text plus citations and abstracts only)
Indexing, abstracting, full text, and images for scholarly or refereed articles in all academic disciplines
General OneFile (1980-present)(full text plus citations and abstracts only)
Indexing, abstracting, full text, and images for newswires, general interest magazines, refereed academic journals, business and technology publications, plus specialty titles in law, health care, and computers. Full indexing of 5 major newspapers
General Reference Center (1980-present) (full text plus citations and abstracts only)
Indexing, abstracting, full text, and images for articles from general interest and business periodicals--includes the text of 15 reference sources
InfoTrac Web (search several databases at once)(full text plus citations and abstracts only)
Cross searchable databases: General OneFile, Academic OneFile, Expanded Academic, General Reference, Educator's Reference Complete, Health Reference Center, Student Edition, General Business File, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Informe, Massachusetts History Online, The New York Times (1995- )
Additional databases: Biography Resource Center, Opposing Viewpoints, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Junior Edition, Kids InfoBits
JSTOR (full text)
An archive of core scholarly journals back to the 1800's
Due to agreements with journal publishers, does not include current issues from the last 3-5 years
- Arts & Sciences Collection consists of over six hundred journals in the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences (economics; history; political science; sociology; ecology; mathematics; statistics; archaeology; classics; African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies; language and literature; music; history and study of art and architecture; cultural studies; film; folklore; performing arts; religion; law; psychology; public policy and administration; business and education)
- Biological Sciences Collection consists of journals in the natural and applied sciences (ecology, botany, biodiversity, conservation, paleontology, plant science, cell biology and zoology)
MAS Ultra - School Edition (1975-present)(full text)
Student Research Center (the graphical interface for MAS Ultra)
Provides articles from more than 700 popular, high school magazines--includes over 84,000 biographies and over 86,000 primary source documents--also includes over 350 reference books (Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book, World Almanac & Book of Facts, etc.), an Image Collection of over 188,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs--contains information on each of the states, commonwealths and territories in the United States
Readers Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)(citations only)
Indexes the most popular general interest periodicals published in the U.S. from 1890-1982
Reference Databases
See also Ready Reference for links to quality reference sites on the Internet
Access Science (full text)
Full text science encyclopedia (McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology) plus definitions, biographies, news, evaluated websites, study guides, and illustrations and images
Enciclopedia Universal en Español Online (full text)
A comprehensive Spanish language encyclopedia that includes over 47,000 articles and 9,000 images, maps, and tables--covers art, geography, history, people, religions, science, and more--includes a link to Enciclopedia Juvenil Online, an elementary encyclopedia
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online (full text)
Includes the complete encyclopedia plus:
- Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus
- Britannica Student Encyclopedia
- Britannica Book of the Year
- Also includes 300,000 links to websites selected by the editors
Gale Virtual Reference Library (full text) (Tutorial)
Search all of the sources at once with this link
- Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America, 2000
- Biology, 2002
- Blackbirch Kid's Visual Reference of the United States, 2003
- Blackbirch Kid's Visual Reference of the World, 2001
- Business Leader Profiles for Students, 2002
- Contemporary Fashion, 2002
- Contemporary Novelists, 2001
- Contemporary Poets, 7th Ed., 2001
- Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence and Security, 2003
- Encyclopedia of Landforms and other Geologic Features, 2003
- Encyclopedia of Population, 2003
- Encyclopedia of Small Business, 2nd ed.
- Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations and Footwear through the Ages, 2003
- Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, 2005
- Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, 2nd ed.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, 2nd ed.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 3rd ed.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, 2000
- Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, 1999
- International Dictionary of Film and Filmmakers, 2000
- Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students, 2003
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, 2000
- World of Earth Science, 2003
Oxford English Dictionary (Help)
The "accepted authority on the evolution of the English language"--includes meaning, usage, and pronunciation
|