Current Issues Databases
General databases and news databases also include information on current issues
America's News Magazines
Full text. Eight sources: Baby Talk, Foreign Affairs, Newsweek, Parenting, Popular Science, Slate, Stateline.org, Washington Family Magazine.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (Joshua Martin Dill Memorial Fund and the Donnelley Family Library Fund)
Full text. (1923-present) Online version of a weekly periodical that
provides in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues--each issue includes a chronology, a pro and con section, and a bibliography.
CountryWatch (Walter B. Mahony Library Book Fund)
Full text. Up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world.
Global Issues in Context
Full text. "Global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues."
New York Times 1980 - present
Full text. "Provides national and international news, opinion, and commentary."
Newsbank Hot Topics
Full text. Current events, social studies, science & health, sports, arts & literature, and people.
Newsbank Special Reports
Full text. Focuses on current topics and includes content from sources from around the world--current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Full text. Incorporates secondary sources and articles from major newspapers and news magazines to provide coverage of major issues of the day--includes statistics, government data, laws and legislation, political positions, public policies and more. Tutorial
The Recorder -Greenfield Recorder Online Newspaper-
(Walter B. Mahony Library Book Fund)
~ NEW
This online newspaper is subtitled: "Serving the people of Franklin County and the North Quabbin Region". Full text and searchable access.
Springfield Republican: 1988 - present (Springfield City Library)
Full text. "Provides extensive coverage for Springfield and Western Massachusetts. The paper features news, opinion, sports, obituaries, arts & entertainment and business coverage."
|